Observations and Oddities



Mellowcremes

I love mellowcremes.  If you’re not sure what I’m referring to, think of the solid sugar, honey flavored pumpkins you see at Halloween.  However, I’m a bit of a mellowcreme snob, preferring the favorites of my youth: Brach’s holiday bells, mellowcreme pets and harvest mix.  Growing up, these seasonal goodies were always my favorites.

Over the last few years, these childhood favorites have become more and more difficult to find. So much so, that during the Spring of 2009 I found myself obsessed with getting my hands on a bag of mellowcreme pets (the Easter variety with strawberry, orange, vanilla and chocolate bunnies, chicks, baskets and other shapes).  I searched grocery stores and pharmacies everywhere. I enlisted the help of friends and family in other states (and conducted my own multi-state searches during trips to Alabama and New Jersey). I contacted local stores that specialized in “old-fashioned” candy and searched the web for online suppliers. No luck.

This is when I crossed the line from being a fan of mellowcremes to becoming a mellowcreme expert.  I researched the fate of my beloved sweets and learned that the Brach’s brand was purchased by Farley’s & Sather’s Candy Company and found mention of the elusive pets on their web page. I immediately contacted them for direction on how to obtain my orange and chocolate sugar bunnies. Their response was swift and saddening- they had discontinued the production of my childhood love (even though they to this day still tease me with a picture of the product on their site ).  I responded with an additional query-bracing myself for the expected outcome and learned that the holiday bells, my favorite of them all, had met the same fate as my delectable bunnies.

They tried to console me, ensuring me that the harvest mix would still remain available, although in a slightly adapted form. I accepted their apologies for my heartbreak and began to process the loss. At first I was in a bit of denial continuing to look for other potential sources of a suitable replacement (I even considered making my own). Then came the anger. Next, I considered bargaining with Farley’s and Sather’s- negotiating a major purchase if they would return my love to me, but soon settled into the depression that stemmed from the idea that I would never taste them again. Finally, I accepted that it was time to move on and tried to put the bunnies, chicks, baskets and bells out of my mind.

Time began to heal my wounds and I learned to live in a world without my favorite mellowcremes-until this last Halloween.

One of my close girlfriends had been by my side during my time of loss and was always in search of a replacement to fill the hole Farley’s and Sather’s product consolidation had left in my heart.  She would periodically bring me mellowcremes she found at random locations-valentine hearts from Whole Foods, Christmas shapes from a local gift shop. The thought was sweet, but the candy disappointing.  Then came October.

Knowing that I had always found mellowcreme pumpkins an acceptable second to my flavored favorites, she picked up a bag of pumpkins at a local ice cream and candy store (Graeter’s for all of my Cincinnati friends) and presented them to me as a “just because” gift. I graciously accepted and placed them in my desk drawer to access the next time I needed to satisfy my sweet tooth. A few days passed before I sampled these new confections, but when I did it was magic!  They were a perfect orange flavor, the texture was ideal, they melted in my mouth.  My love had returned!!!! 

I immediately shared my excitement with my friend (and everyone within earshot) and took a break from the office to walk over to the source of this culinary delight. And what to my wondering eyes should appear?  Pumpkins AND Christmas mellowcremes!! It was heaven on earth.  I quickly stocked up and headed back to the office to sample my new finds and was ecstatic to learn that the Christmas variety was just as pleasing as the citrus!  Happiness ensued!

Thus began a new obsession ensuring I could get my hand on these regularly. This led to the discovery that my new loves were the product of Jelly Belly and that they could only be ordered by distributors, like Graeters or in bulk. Fearing their presence was fleeting, I ordered my own bulk order of Christmas mellowcremes immediately: a five-pound bag.

With my massive supply now safely in my desk drawer, I’ve come to a new conclusion: familiarity breeds contempt. Now that I have mellowcremes readily available (and with my bulk order, they’ll be available for quite a while), they’ve lost their intrigue. They are no longer a special treat.

Moral of the story? First, you never know what kind of nonsense you’ll find on this blog. Secondly, and more importantly, sometimes things are special just because they are rare, or occasional. Making them part of your everyday life takes away some of the intrigue and enjoyment. Be thankful for those occasional joys, not greedy in search of more.

Comments

  1. * Maria Roths says:

    I, too, share your enthusiasm for the mellowcremes. When I was little, my dad was a furniture salesman at JC Penney. In those days, JCP had a candy counter, which happened to be directly across from the furniture dept. Every holiday, the corner case was filled with the appropriate mellowcreme mix – halloween, autumn, Christmas, Valentines, Easter and my personal St. Patrick’s Day. It was soooo exciting to see the corner case change with the upcoming holiday. One year my mom made 6 shamrock cakes (made by putting 3 heart shaped cakes together, do the math…that’s a total of 18 cakes or 9 box mixes!!)) for each of us to take to school. Each cake was decorated with the St. Pat’s mellowcremes!! We were the talk of the school!!!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 5 months ago
    • * lishadawn says:

      Happy to hear from another mellocreme fan, Maria. I love your candy counter story and wish I could have experienced one of your mom’s shamrock cakes!

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Bethany says:

    I too went on a fruitless search for the Easter mellowcremes. My mom tried last year with a knock-off, but it just isn’t the same. I also think it’s lame that Farley’s bought Brach’s because Farley’s was always the cheaper, yucky version of Brach’s.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 3 months ago
    • * rochelle says:

      I totally agree, the valentine mellowcremes were my fav. I thought that I was being obsessive by looking everywhere for them, glad to see that I am not the only one. I always felt that farleys couldn’t touch brachs with a ten foot pole.

      | Reply Posted 2 years, 9 months ago
  3. * James says:

    I found your blog while searching for Christmas Mellowcremes…. I am indeed saddened to find that they are no longer available. I won’t be able to wait until our new Greater’s opens (in Lexington KY). So i guess a trip is in order to Louisville or Cincy to find this ‘substitute’ treat! :-)

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Dallas says:

    This site has “home made” versions.

    http://www.naturalcandystore.com/product/all-natural-halloween-mellocremes/made-in-usa-candy

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 8 months ago
    • * lishadawn says:

      Thanks Dallas! I’ll check it out.

      | Reply Posted 2 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Kellie says:

    I found some Christmas mellowcremes this past year in the Cracker Barrel store. They were quite tasty. I have always loved candy corn, and a couple of years ago, I found a recipe for Halloween Chex Mix that has candy corn mixed in. It was such a hit, I adapted the recipe for Christmas when I was lucky enough to find Christmas-colored candy corn. I wanted to make it again this year, but was unsuccessful locating the candy corn. That was when I found the mellowcremes at Cracker Barrel and decided to use them. It was even better! At Valentine’s this year, I found a tub of them by Farley’s and they were very yummy, not near as dreadful as your description! But they are few and far between. I have had many people ask me where I found them because they have never seen them before.

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 5 months ago
  6. * David Hutchins says:

    Another Mellowcreme fan here. I have been looking for the Valentine and Christmas ones for the last several years. Forgot they used to have an Easter version too. You can still get the Halloween ones, but Walgreens was the only place I found them this year. Love those banana flavored moons and the cocoa/chocolate flavored black cats. Anyone know where to find clove candy? Love those Sherbet mints too; the pink peppermint were the best; didn’t care for the lemon as much. Why don’t they make these really good tasting candies any more for wide distribution? You have to really search for them and then pay a lot to get them. Another one I used to love is chocolate babies. I ate a ton of those, but haven’t seen them in years.

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 7 months ago
  7. * Leigh says:

    omg! This such a sad and helpful page. The good news: after much searching, I found pumpkins at Target last year. But what I really, really want is the Valentine’s mellowcremes. I always assumed the red dye caused cancer or something and that’s why they discontinued them. It seems like it was pure wickedness instead.

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
  8. * Dan Sauer says:

    Sad… just outright sad. My favorite ‘candy’ for each holiday too.

    At least now, I can stop the gas guzzling search of stores. (and I’ll let the wife know. She was always hunting too for me.

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 5 months ago
  9. * Amanda D says:

    I have been OBSESSING about the Easter mellowcremes for weeks now and I might cry, although I could buy them on Amazon for $7 a bag….I think I might have to do that :(

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 4 months ago
  10. * Terri Zugner says:

    I found your blog while searching for Mellocremes. My favorite were the valentines ones, especially the strawberry flavored ones. I also loved the Christmas ones with stockings and trees. I can still find the fall ones and look forward to buying them each fall. It is sad that the other seasonal ones are no longer being made. It’s a sad day when a company gets bought out by another one, things are never the same. Thank you for your sweet and funny story. I enjoyed it :)

    | Reply Posted 1 year ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

